Our Mission

Senate District 41 DFL supports and elects progressive leaders who embody the ideals and principles of the MN Democratic Party. We work to provide an inclusive space for all progressives to share ideas and promote the DFL platform through volunteerism and outreach. We strive for transparency, professionalism, and mutual respect through discussions and our actions as leaders within our Senate District.

The work of organizing locally is never done – especially at the local level. Our success rises and falls with the commitment of the people who show up – keep showing up – to help out. Fortunately, the state-level DFL also provides us with guidance resources:

Our Senate District 41 Constitution

Our 2017 DFL SD41 Meeting Rules

How the DFL is structured

What We’ve Achieved

Democrats have won every precinct in our district for legislative, statewide and national races in every election since Senate District 41 was redistricted in 2012.

We have endorsed and elected eight local candidates in city elections.

We have endorsed and elected two local candidates in school board elections.

We have held three issue forums and an activist’s forum

Honors for our elected officials include:

Senator Carolyn Laine was named an Assistant Minority Leader.

Representative Connie Bernardy was named  Legislator of the Year for her work on the Education Finance Committee, Leadership Award from the Fridley Teachers Association, (more)

Representative Mary Kunesh-Podein is a member of the first legislative Native American Caucus.

Former Sen. Barb Goodwin was Congressional District 4 Elected Official of the Year and award for moving women forward from Congressional District 5.

Former Rep. Kate Knuth won the State Munger Environmental award, given at the annual Humphrey Mondale Dinner.

Senate District 41 is home to:

Liza Allen – DFL Women’s Hall of Fame Rising Star.

Clara Buckanaga – Congressional District 4 Volunteer of the Year and DFL Volunteer of the Year 2016.

Deb Douglas – CD 4 Convention Credentials Committee Chair and Vento Dinner Committee.

Tom Hamilton – former Congressional District 5 Treasurer, DFL state Treasurer and member of the state Executive Committee.

Millie Jewel & Betty Risdahl – DFL Women’s Hall of Fame Women of Distinction.

Angela Koppse – DFL Volunteer of the Year 2016

Rachel Nelson – State DFL Constitution, Rules and Bylaws Committee.

Jeremy Powers – former DFL State Director, member of the state Executive Committee, 2008 DFL statewide Volunteer of the Year, and co-chair of the state DFL Party Affairs and Coordinated Campaign Committee.